About Us

Map of WCO ESA region membership


The WCO East and Southern Africa Region consist of 24 Member Countries; Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia , South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


A region that facilitates trade efficiently and professionally while ensuring economic growth and intra-regional trade.

Purpose statement

To develop gender equitable, professional and modernized Customs administrations that are fair, efficient and effective in revenue collection and border management service.


To contribute to the economic growth of the Region in trade, security, social protection and human capital development.


• Transparency
• Probity
• Commitment
• Responsibility
• Respect
• Cooperation

Scope of Application of the strategy

The Scope of application for the Strategy is deepening regional integration through trade facilitation, revenue collection, protection of the society and enhancing human capital development and integrity in the 24 ESA Member administrations through effective coordination and delivery by the ESA Regional Office for Capacity Building and Regional Training Centres, supported by the Vice Chair’s Office. The Strategy shall be effective for a period of 3 years, noting that resources and delivery shall be operative over the short-term period, May 2018 – April 2019 followed by a review of the strategy to enable full implementation of the long-term initiatives over the period May 2019 – April 2021.